Skip to Main Content Responsive Header

Information Literacy Modules: Determining Source Types

Determining Source Types

Determining Source Types

Documentation, Determining Source Types.

1 of 7

Determining Source Type by Information Presented: Books. When working in a search system (catalog, database, etc.) or examining a source’s documentation (notes, works cited, reference list, bibliography), there are certain elements that can be used to identify if an item is a book. Consider the following examples: View of a book’s information. Reads as follows: Chapter Nine: Stem Cell Research. Authors, Hinkley 2, Charles C. Source: Moral Conflicts of Organ Retrieval. 2005, pages 127 to 133. 7 pages. Document Type: Book Chapter Subject Terms: Stem Cell Research Ethics. Embryos, Fertility clinics, Fetus. View of a books information. Reads as follows: Author: Carroll, Sean M., 1966-. Title: The Big Picture: On the Origins of Life, Meaning, and the Universe itself / Sean Carroll. Published: New York, New York : Dutton est. 1852, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC, [2016]. Format: Boo. Description: ix, 470 pages: illustrations, 24 centimeters. View of a book’s information. Reads as follows: Particles and the Universe: From the Ionian School to the Higgs Boson and Beyond. Authors: Narison, S. Publication Information: Singapore: World Scientific, 2016. Resource Type: eBook. Description: This book aims to present the history and developments of… description continues, but is not relevant. View of a book’s information. Reads as follows: Lymphatic System. Louise Dickerson. The Gale Encyclopedia of Science. Ed. K Lee Lemer and Brenda Wilmoth Lemer. Vol. 4, 3rd ed. Detroit: Gale. 2004. pages 2385 to 2389. Full Text: Copyright, 2004. Gale Copyright, 2006. Gale. Copyright, 2007. Gale, Cengage Learning.

2 of 7

Determining Source Type by Information Presented: Books Examples. What were some of the elements that indicated these search results are books? Format/Document Type: Three of the search results indicated that the items are books or eBooks. Publisher Name: One element book citations have that isn’t seen on periodical formats is publisher. Three of these examples have publisher names. Compare the following citations with the previous examples: MLA Carrol, Sean M. The Big Picture: On the Origins of Life, Meaning, and the Universe Itself. Duton, 2016. Dickerson, Louise. “Lymphatic System.” The Gale Encyclopedia of Science, edited by K. Lee Lemer and Brenda Wilmoth Lemer, 3rd ed., vol. 4, Gale, 2004, pp. 2385-89. Hinkley II, Charles C. “Stem Cell Research.” Moral Conflicts of Organ Retrieval, Editions Rodopi BV, 2005, pp. 127-33. Academic Search Complete, db23.linccweb.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/ login.aspx? direct=true&db=a9h&AN=57738714&site=ehost-live. Narison, Stephan. Particles and the Universe: From the Ionian School to the Higgs Boson and Beyond. World Scientific, 2016. eBook Collection, db23.linccweb.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/ login.aspx?direct= true&db=nlebk&AN=1105692&site=ehost-live&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_iii.

3 of 7

Determining Source Type by Information Presented: Periodicals. When working in a search system (catalog, database, etc.) or examining a source’s documentation (notes, works cited, reference list, bibliography), there are certain elements that can be used to identify if an item is an article. Consider the following examples: View of an article’s information. Reads as follows: Moral License in Video Games: When Being Right can Mean Doing Wrong. Authors: Elithorpe, Morgan E., Cruz, Carlos, Velez, John A., Ewoldsen, David R. Bogert, Adam K. Source: Cyber Psychology, Behavior & Social Networking. April 2015, Vol. 18 Issue 4, pages 203 to 207. 5 pages. Content Type: Article. View of article’s information. Reads as follows: Moving the Learning Health System from Concept to Reality: Creating a Seamless Interplay Between Research and Care Delivery is Difficult to Pull Off. David Raths. Healthcare Informatics. 34.2, (March 2017): page 19. View of article’s information. Reads as follows: Sequence Alignment, Mutual Information, and Dissimilarity Measure for Constructing Phylogenies: el14373. Penner, Orion, Grassberger, Peter, Paczuski, Maya. PLoS One; San Francisco 6.1, (January 2011). View of article’s information. Reads as follows: Tech Trends. July 2009, Volume 53, Issue 4, pages 28-31. Effectiveness of Cyber Charter Schools: A Review of Research on Learnings. Article. First Online: 10 July 2009. 6 citations. 1 shares. 178 Downloads.

4 of 7

Determining Source Type by Information Presented: Periodicals Examples. What were some of the elements that indicated these search results are periodical articles? Format/Document Type: Only one of these examples used this heading, but two indicated that the items are articles. Volume and Issue Numbers: All four of these examples displayed volume and issue numbers, though two of them did not label the number as such. While books will sometimes have volumes, they do not normally have issue numbers. Seeing both is an indication of being a periodical article. Compare the following citations with the previous examples: APA Cavanaugh, C. (2009). Effectiveness of cyber charter schools: Review of research on learnings. TechTrends, 53(4), 28-31. doi: 10.1007/s11528-009-0302-x Ellithorpe, M. E., Cruz, C., Velez, J. A., Ewoldsen, D. R., & Bogert, A. K. (2015). Moral license in video games: When being right can mean doing wrong. CyberPsychology, Behavior & Social Networking, 18(4), 203-207. doi: 10.1089/cyber.2014.0599 Penner, O., Grassberger, P., & Paczuski, M. (2011). Sequence alignment, mutual information, and dissimilarity measures for constructing phylogenies: e14373. PLoS One, 6(1), 1-11. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0014373 Raths, D. (2017). Moving the learning health system from concept to reality: Creating a seamless interplay between research and care delivery is difficult to pull off. Healthcare Informatics, 34(2), 19-21. Retrieved from https://www.healthcare-informatics.com/

5 of 7

Determining Source Type by Information Presented: Newspapers. View of an article’s information. Reads as follows: The 33 indicted in alleged sport betting operation. Patriot Ledger, The. (Quincy, MA) – November 14, 2015. Browse Issues. Section News. Page: 3. Readability: >12 grade level (Lexile: 1620). View of an article’s information. Reads as follows: N.Y. pitches tough rules on money laundering. Authors: Kevin McCory, USA Today. Source: USA Today. 12/02/2015. ISSN: 0734 – 7456. Accession Number: JOE239344989815. Choose Language drop-down menu, Translate button. N.Y. pitches…title repeats. Listen, Assistive Technology, American Accent. Aims to Choke funds for terror groups, organized crime. Section: Money, Page, 02b. View of an article’s information. Reads as follows: Ex-President of Brazil Gets Years in Prison. Ernesto LondonOo. New York Times. (July 13, 2017): News: pA1(L). Copyright: Copyright 2017 The New York Times Company. http://www.nyt.com. View of an article’s information. Reads as follows: Back to results, 1 of 160,403. Jury expected to get Redd case. Esters, Kelli. The Clarion Ledger. Jackson, Miss. [Jackson, Miss] 19 April 2006: B.1.

6 of 7

Determining Source Type by Information Presented: Newspapers Examples. What were some of the elements that indicated these search results are newspaper articles? Full Dates: Newspapers are published everyday, and will have dates that include the day, month and year. Volume and Issue Numbers: Newspaper articles will not include volume or issue information. Sections: Three of the examples include section names. These could be any named section in a newspaper (e.g. business, news, current, home, etc.) Though they may not be included in a citation, sections still indicate a newspaper. Compare the following citations with the previous examples: CMS Patriot Ledger (Quincey, MA). “The 33 Indicted in Alleged Sports Betting Operation.” November 14, 2015. http://infoweb.newsbank.com/resources/doc/nb/news/159264BEA15C0A00?p=AWNB. Esters, Kelli. “Jury Expected to Get Redd Case.” Clarion Ledger (Jackson, MS), 19 April, 2006. http://db23.linccweb.org /login?url=https://search-proquestcom.db23.linccweb.org/docview /277513140?accountid=45774. LondoOo, Ernesto. “Ex-President of Brazil Gets Years in Prison.” New York Times, July 13, 2017. http://go.galegroup.com /ps/i.do?p=AONE&sw=w&u=lincclin_sjrcc&v=2.1&id=GALE%7CA498367877&it =r&asid=9cddb8ee8aa42acf72a627893137360f. McCoy, Kevin. “N.Y. Pitches Tough Rules on Money Laundering.” USA Today, December 2, 2015. http://db23.linccweb.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN =J0E239344989815&site=ehost-live.

7 of 7

<< Citation Elements Wrap Up and Review >>