Skip to Main Content
Library and Tutoring homepage

Information Literacy Modules: Wrap Up and Review

Wrap Up

The table below summarizes the different types of information sources that you will find when using the main finding tools discussed in this module.

The table below summarizes the different types of information sources that you will find when using the main finding tools discussed in this module. Reference Sources (encyclopedias, bibliographies, dictionaries, periodical indexes and handbooks) • Use the Library Catalog to locate print & eBook reference sources. • Use the Library Databases to locate reference sources in eBook format (i.e., General Reference Center Gold; Virtual Reference Library; Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia; Oxford English Dictionary; Literary Reference Center Plus; History Reference Center; Biography Reference Bank; WorldCat Discovery). • Use Search Engines to locate free reference sources (i.e., CIA World Factbook; Cambridge Dictionaries Online; Dictionary.com; Encyclopedia.com; Bureau of Justice Statistics; Statistical Abstract of the United States). Books & eBooks • Search for print books & eBooks via the Library Catalog. • Search for eBooks via the Library Databases (i.e., EBSCO's eBook Collection; Virtual Reference Library and Books@Ovid). • Search the Internet for free books out of copyright protection (i.e., Project Gutenberg; Google Books; Open Library; World eBook Library; Read Print). • Search the catalogs of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide via the Library's Database, WorldCat Discovery. Periodicals (popular magazines, scholarly journals, newspapers, and trade publications) • Search for print periodical titles held by the SJR State Library by using the Library Catalog. • Search for online articles via the Library Databases (i.e., Academic Search Complete; America's News; Access World News Research Collection; Opposing Viewpoints in Context; Springer eJournal Collection; CINAHL Complete). • Search the Internet for free articles (i.e., Google Scholar; Scientific Journals International; The Directory of Open Access Journals; Internet Public Library). Multimedia (web pages, broadcast news, interviews, streaming videos, radio programs, images, DVDs, CDs, Audiobooks, and streaming music) • Search for DVD, CD, and Audiobook titles held by the Library by using the Library Catalog. • Use the Library's video databases such as Films on Demand and Bates' Visual Guide for streaming videos. • Use search engines such as Google, Bing or Yahoo to find web pages and other multimedia on the Web.

A Short Activity

Review

Take a Quiz!

1. Which Finding Tool would you use to find documentaries on the War of 1812?




2. Use these print Finding Tools to find periodical articles on any given topic?




3. What Finding Tool would you use when you want to find peer-reviewed journal articles?





4. Use the __________ Finding Tool to find up-to-the-minute news and information.





5. What is the best source to use when seeking information on an event that occurred within the last 60 minutes?





6. How long after a particular event would you likely have to wait to find a scholarly article about it?




 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Navigation

<< Finding Tool Descriptions                                                                                                    Searching >>