Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Additive manufacturing : design, methods, and processes by
Publication Date: 2017-09-07
This book discusses the uptake, use, and impact of the additive manufacturing and digital fabrication technology. It augments technical and business-oriented trends with those in product design and design studies. It includes a mix of disciplinary and transdisciplinary trends and is rich in case and design material. The chapters cover a range of design-centered views on additive manufacturing that are rarely addressed in the main conferences and publications, which are still mostly, and importantly, concerned with tools, technologies, and technical development.
Additive Manufacturing: Materials, Processes, Quantifications and Applications by
Publication Date: 2018-05-17
Additive Manufacturing: Materials, Processes, Quantifications and Applications is designed to explain the engineering aspects and physical principles of available AM technologies and their most relevant applications. It begins with a review of the recent developments in this technology and then progresses to a discussion of the criteria needed to successfully select an AM technology for the embodiment of a particular design, discussing material compatibility, interfaces issues and strength requirements.
The African American Student's Guide to STEM Careers by
Publication Date: 2016-12-05
This book reviews the factors that facilitate access and success of Black students in STEM majors in higher education, and it shares testimonies from Black STEM professionals that will help inspire the next generation of Black scientists and engineers.
Basic Mechanical Engineering by
Publication Date: 2015-11-30
Basic Mechanical Engineering has been written for the first year students (all branches) of BE Degree course of RGPV Bhopal affiliated Engineering Institutes. It meets the syllabus requirements of Basic Mechanical Engineering. A number of illustrations have been used to explain and clarify the subject matter, objective type questions have been provided at the end of each chapter to help the students to quickly review the concepts.
Careers in Manufacturing by
Publication Date: 2019-07-15
This comprehensive guide offers readers essential information about the manufacturing industry, including areas of specialization, job growth, and outlook, as well as information about the groundbreaking makerspace movement and how to get involved!
Cognitive Robotics by
Publication Date: 2015-10-16
This edited collection presents theoretical research in cognitive robotics. It takes a multidisciplinary approach that considers the artificial intelligence, physical, chemical, philosophical, social, cultural, and ethical aspects of this rapidly emerging field.
Communicating As Women in STEM by
Publication Date: 2018-09-19
Communicating as Women in STEM discusses various communication styles, also demonstrating how principles can be applied during interpersonal interactions in day-to-day environments. It provides women and other underrepresented groups, faculty and administrators with the tools they need to break barriers raised by different communication styles within the STEM fields. Sections cover tactics on how to become more aware of communication patterns and how to cope with, and improve, communication.
The complete idiot's guide to lean six sigma by
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Lean Six Sigma answers this question with unprecedented clarity and turnkey elegance. Part one gives you all the background you need to understand Lean Six Sigma - what it is, where it came from, what it has done for so many organizations and what it can do for you and your company. Parts two and three of the book give you a prescribed yet flexible roadmap to follow in selecting, enacting and realizing improvements from Lean Six Sigma projects.
The Development of Women and Young Professionals in STEM Careers by
Publication Date: 2019-09-16
This book is fluent and systematic. It works through the fears and ambitions of new engineers in the professional environment. This book encourages the young professionals and women in STEM to know that they are not alone and provides insight into their ability to dealing with the stress of developing into a successful engineer and consultant. This book is ideal for those new to the engineering and consulting fields, students in engineering education, administrators, libraries, Industrial engineering, those involved in leadership, organization behavior, human resources, STEM and other areas as well
Diversity in Science by
Publication Date: 2018-12-15
This book discusses the progress that women and minorities have made in the scientific fields. Indian mathematician Srinivasa Ramanujan, Iranian Fields Medal winner Maryam Mirzakhani, and cosmologist Stephen Hawking, who persevered despite incredible physical limitations, are among the persons profiled.
Electric Drives and Electromechanical Systems by
Publication Date: 2019-10-19
This book provides a global overview of design, specification applications, important design information, and methodologies. This new edition has been restructured to present a seamless, logical discussion on a wide range of topical problems relating to the design and specification of the complete motor-drive system. Subsidiary issues that have a considerable impact on the overall performance and reliability, including environmental protection and costs, energy efficiency, and cyber security, are also considered. -- Provided by publisher.
Electromechanical Systems and Devices by
Publication Date: 2008-03-26
The book begins with a good, well-written review of some of the basic equations used for electromechanical designs ... There is very good technical depth to each of the sections in this book, giving the reader the ability to design real systems using the equations and examples from this book ... aimed at electrical engineering students because it contains homework problems at the end of each chapter and is very instructive for power and electromechanical engineers.
Embedded Computing and Mechatronics with the PIC32 Microcontroller by
Publication Date: 2015-12-08
This book provides the beginner with a coherent and logical introduction to the hardware and software of the PIC32, bringing together key material from the PIC32 Reference Manual, Data Sheets, XC32 C Compiler User's Guide, Assembler and Linker Guide, MIPS32 CPU manuals, and Harmony documentation. This book also trains you to use the Microchip documentation, allowing better life-long learning of the PIC32.
Engineering Applications of Pneumatics and Hydraulics by
Publication Date: 2014-02-04
This book aims to equip the reader with a sound understanding of fluid power systems and their uses in practical engineering. In line with the strongly practical bias of the book, maintenance and trouble-shooting are covered, with particular emphasis on safety systems and regulations.
The fourth industrial revolution by
World-renowned economist Klaus Schwab, Founder and Executive Chairman of the World Economic Forum, explains that we have an opportunity to shape the fourth industrial revolution, which will fundamentally alter how we live and work. Schwab argues that this revolution is different in scale, scope and complexity from any that have come before. Characterized by a range of new technologies that are fusing the physical, digital and biological worlds, the developments are affecting all disciplines, economies, industries and governments, and even challenging ideas about what it means to be human.
Fundamentals of composites manufacturing : materials, methods and applications by
Publication Date: 2007-27-11
The book describes composites manufacturing methods, providing tips for getting the best results that weigh the required material properties against cost and production efficiency. You'll find chapters on: the open molding of engineering and advanced composites, compression molding, resin infusion technologies, filament winding and fiber placement, pultrusion, thermoplastic molding, damage prevention and repair, factory issues, the business of composites, and composites applications.
Fundamentals of occupational safety and health by
This new edition has been revised and updated throughout to include new information on a variety of topics. The book includes a handy directory of resources such as safety and health associations, First Responder organizations, and state and federal agencies. The latest edition of this go-to reference work reflects the legal and cultural climate of safety and health in an easily comprehensible and well-organized format, giving readers a wealth of occupational safety and health information right at their fingertips.
Handbook of Safety Principles by
Publication Date: 2018-01-04
Presents recent breakthroughs in the theory, methods, and applications of safety and risk analysis for safety engineers, risk analysts, and policy makers Safety principles are paramount to addressing structured handling of safety concerns in all technological systems. This handbook captures and discusses the multitude of safety principles in a practical and applicable manner. It is organized by five overarching categories of safety principles: Safety Reserves; Information and Control; Demonstrability; Optimization; and Organizational Principles and Practices.
Health, Safety and Hygiene in Indoor Environments by
Publication Date: 2019-05-30
The information in this guide will help to maintain good indoor air quality in a building, prevent indoor air quality problems, and correct issues that may arise. It will also help to understand the indoor air quality requirements. The structure of this text allows for flexibility in course content and design. It may be used equally well either as a textbook for students or a handbook for environmental consultants, mechanical engineers, building occupants, labor unions and suppliers.
Hydraulic Control Systems by
Publication Date: 2019-08-14
Hydraulic Control Systems, Second Edition is a significantly updated new edition of the must-have textbook for students and engineers in fluid power. It has been updated to cover advances in control systems, including hybrid transmissions, multi-circuit systems, health monitoring, and digital hydraulics. A new chapter on auxiliary components is included and advanced control techniques including estimation, observability, and health monitoring are also considered. Hydraulic Control Systems, Second Edition covers the fundamentals of fluid properties, fluid mechanics and dynamic systems and controls, and discusses hydraulic control systems and hydraulic components.
Industrial Control Systems by
Publication Date: 2016-04-19
This book presents the mathematical foundation for building and implementing industrial control systems. It contains mathematically rigorous models and techniques for control systems, in general, with specific orientation toward industrial systems. Industrial control encompasses several types of control systems. Some common elements of industrial control systems include supervisory control and data acquisition systems, distributed control systems, and other generic control system configurations, such as programmable logic controllers, that are often found in industrial operations and engineering infrastructure.
The Industries of the Future by
Publication Date: 2016-02-02
Leading innovation expert Alec Ross explains what's next for the world, mapping out the advances and stumbling blocks that will emerge in the next ten years--for businesses, governments, and the global community--and how we can navigate them. While Alec Ross was working as Hillary Clinton's Senior Advisor on Innovation, he traveled to forty-one countries. He visited some of the toughest places in the world--from refugee camps of Congo to Syrian war zones. From phone-charger stands in eastern Congo to R & D labs in South Korea, Ross has seen what the future holds.
Internet of Things (IoT) by
Publication Date: 2019-10-08
This book introduces computing, communications, electronics, and security topics that are the key elements of IoT systems. It introduces IoT system design techniques and compiles various international industrial standards and research outcomes relevant to IoT system design. The editors of the book, are high-profile international researchers in multidisciplinary areas involving IoT systems. The book provides existing and emerging solutions to design and develop IoT platforms, enable new applications, present regulatory implications, address challenges in current IoT deployments, and present guidelines for possible future applications
Internet of Things (IoT) by
Publication Date: 2017-10-10
The term IoT, which was first proposed by Kevin Ashton, a British technologist, in 1999 has the potential to impact everything from new product opportunities to shop floor optimization to factory worker efficiency gains, that will power top-line and bottom-line gains. As IoT technology is being put to diversified use, the current technology needs to be improved to enhance privacy and built secure devices by adopting a security-focused approach, reducing the amount of data collected, increasing transparency and providing consumers with a choice to opt out.
Introductory Electrical Engineering with Math Explained in Accessible Language by
Publication Date: 2019-10-23
This book teaches the basics of electrical engineering and explains the underlying mathematics involved using examples that allow the reader to grasp the theory along with the mathematics. The author explains the math theory needed to understand every topic. He includes all math knowledge needed to understand the book. The book incorporates several math tricks and knowledge, such as matrices determinant and multiplication, and how certain formulas are derived.
IoT - Platforms, Connectivity by
This book is intended for network managers and engineers, graduate and senior undergraduate students in telecommunication and computer science majors. this book covers a broad range of topics such as platforms, technologies, generating business value, delivering smart, sustainable energy solutions, smart communities and citizens, manufacturing, healthcare, security and privacy, commercial drones and many other related IoT topics.
Leaner six sigma : making lean six sigma easier and adaptable to current workplaces by
Publication Date: 2019-05-10
Just in time to meet the challenges we will experience in 2020, and beyond, SSD Global Solutions has introduced Leaner Six Sigma (LrSS). LrSS makes the concepts and tools within these two popular methodologies easier and quicker to understand. Regardless, if you plan to take an industry-standard exam or simply want to apply critical-thinking and problem-solving models to your daily life, this book helps you rapidly navigate your path.
Lean Six Sigma Approaches in Manufacturing, Services, and Production by
Publication Date: 2014-11-30
"This book presents emerging research-based trends in the area of global quality lean six sigma networks and analysis through an interdisciplinary approach focusing on research, cases, and emerging technologies"-- Provided by publisher.
Lean Six Sigma for Engineers and Managers by
Publication Date: 2015-03-16
This book introduces Lean Six Sigma (LSS) to engineers and managers interested in implementing LSS at their organizations. The book provides a detailed roadmap and industry examples to aid readers in understanding and implementing the LSS system. This book discusses the LSS process to define improvement needs, measure current business performance, analyze performance results using statistical tools, improve business and financial results, and control peak business performance.
Lean Six Sigma for Leaders by
Publication Date: 2018-03-07
Real-world case studies illustrate implementation at various organisations to show you what went right, what went wrong, what they learned and what they would have done differently, giving you the distilled wisdom of hundreds of implementations with which to steer your own organisation. Written from a leader's perspective, this quick and easy read presents the real information you need to make informed strategic decisions.
Lean Six Sigma for Small and Medium Sized Enterprises by
Publication Date: 2017-12-19
This book covers the fundamental challenges and common pitfalls that can be avoided with successful introduction and deployment of LSS in the context of SMEs. Systematically guiding you through the application of the Six Sigma methodology for problem solving, the book devotes separate chapters to the most appropriate tools and techniques that can be useful in each stage of the methodology.
Machinery's handbook by
For more than 100 years, Machinery's Handbook has been the most popular reference work in metalworking, design, engineering and manufacturing facilities, and technical schools and colleges throughout the world. It is universally acknowledged as an extraordinarily authoritative, comprehensive, and practical tool, providing its users with the most fundamental and essential aspects of sophisticated manufacturing practice.
Machines that think : the future of artificial intelligence by
A scientist who has spent a career developing Artificial Intelligence takes a realistic look at the technological challenges and assesses the likely effect of AI on the future.How will Artificial Intelligence (AI) impact our lives? Toby Walsh, one of the leading AI researchers in the world, takes a critical look at the many ways in which "thinking machines" will change our world.Based on a deep understanding of the technology, Walsh describes where Artificial Intelligence is today, and where it will take us.·
Managing Quality by
Publication Date: 2016-06-21
An essential quality management resource for students and practitioners alike--now in its sixth edition This popular and highly successful text on Quality Management has been fully revised and updated to reflect recent developments in the field. New to the Sixth Edition is timely coverage of agile development, emerging markets, product research, evidence based decision-making, and quality control. Some of the material has been re-ordered and changes to terminology have been made to bring the book completely up to date.
Managing Supply Chain Risk by
Publication Date: 2015-06-24
Risk management in supply chain logistics has moved from being a nice-to-have to a necessity due to the number of variables that can cripple a business. Managing Supply Chain Risk: Integrating with Risk Management details the critical factors involved in managing supply chain risk. It discusses how managing supply chain risk can be integrated into Enterprise Risk Management (ERM) applications, focusing on the Committee of Sponsoring Organizations (COSO), Failure Mode Effects and Analysis (FMEA), and International Organization of Standards (ISO) 31000:2009 frameworks.
Manufacturing : Mathematical Models, Problems, and Solutions by
Publication Date: 2018-05-11
This book is written for readers who are either practicing engineers in industry or engineering-degree students taking a course in manufacturing technology. The book is divided into three parts which includes problems and solutions in basic manufacturing processes, problems and solutions in non-traditional and computer aided manufacturing, and problems and solutions in quality assurance and economics of manufacturing. With 250 solved manufacturing and design problems and over 70 illustrations, this book provides detailed information on mathematical modeling for many different manufacturing processes.
Manufacturing Handbook of Best Practices by
Publication Date: 2001-12-26
Manufacturing Handbook of Best Practices: An Innovation, Productivity, and Quality Focus gives you a working knowledge of today's cutting edge tools - preparing you for the way you will be doing your job tomorrow. With contributions from seasoned manufacturing experts, the book provides a single-source reference to what's currently happening in modern manufacturing facilities.
Manufacturing processes & materials by
Publication Date: 2000-28-10
The book covers the basic processes and machinery used in the job, toolroom, or small manufacturing facility. At the same time, it describes advanced equipment used in larger production environments. The reader is given a thorough review of metals and other engineering materials, including their physical properties, testing, treatment, and suitability for use in manufacturing.
Manufacturing Techniques for Materials by
Publication Date: 2018-04-09
Manufacturing Techniques for Materials: Engineering and Engineered provides a cohesive and comprehensive overview of the following: (i) prevailing and emerging trends, (ii) emerging developments and related technology, and (iii) potential for the commercialization of techniques specific to manufacturing of materials.
Manufacturing Technology by
Publication Date: 2011-08-17
The book discusses heat treatments, smelting of metals, process casting, forming, powder metallurgy, joining processes, and surface technology. It also looks at the environmental aspects related to manufacturing and clean factories and describes trends in surface hardening technology.
Mastering IOT : build modern IoT solutions that secure and monitor your IoT infrastructure by
Publication Date: 2019-16-04
This Learning Path is designed for developers, architects, and system designers who are interested in building exciting projects with Python by understanding the IoT ecosphere, various technologies, and tradeoffs. Technologists and technology managers who want to develop a broad view of IoT architecture, will also find this Learning Path useful. scalability, robust communication systems, security, and data analysis in your IoT infrastructure.
Mechanical Engineering in the Real World by
Publication Date: 2016-12-15
Mechanical engineers design machines to improve transportation, explore the solar system, and save lives. Mechanical Engineering in the Real World examines the history of this branch of engineering, what mechanical engineers do today, and what's next for the field. Easy-to-read text, vivid images, and helpful back matter give readers a clear look at this subject.
Mechanical Measurements by
Publication Date: 2015-03-31
This second edition is an enlarged version of the web course developed by the author at IIT Madras, and also a modified and augmented version of the earlier book. Major additions/modifications presented are in the treatment of errors in measurement, temperature measurement, measurement of thermo-physical properties, and data manipulation. Many new worked examples have been introduced in this new and updated second edition.
Mechanics - The Science of Machinery. by
Publication Date: 2016-08-27
Although strictly speaking the term "Mechanics" applies to that branch of Physics that deals with the actions of forces on material bodies, originally the word had a broader meaning embracing all machinery and mechanical inventions. To-day popular usage is restoring to the term its original broad interpretation, and it is in this popular but rather unorthodox sense that "Mechanics" has been chosen as the title of this book; for although certain elementary principles of mechanics are described and explained, the major portion of the book deals with machines and their evolution to their present stage of perfection.
Publication Date: 2015-12-01
The book highlights methodologies that encompass modeling, analysis, design, control, monitoring, diagnosis of mechatronic systems, and mechatronic systems and technologies. In addition, it illustrates topics by using numerous examples and various case studies from real implementations and incorporates analytical methods, practical considerations, design issues, and experimental techniques throughout the book.
Networked Control Systems by
Publication Date: 2019-02-09
The book includes a critical examination of the principles of cloud computing, cloud control systems design, the available techniques of secure control design to NCS's under cyberphysical attack, along with strategies for resilient and secure control of cyberphysical systems. Smart grid infrastructures are also discussed, providing diagnosis methods to analyze and counteract impacts.
Occupational Safety and Health by
Publication Date: 2017-06-14
This is not a how-to book. It is a book that addresses the philosophical basis for all of the varied components and elements needed to develop and manage a safety and health program. It is a book designed to answer the questions often posed as to why should we do it this way. It is the "Why" book and the intent is to provide a blueprint and a helpmate for the philosophical basis for occupational safety and health and the justification as an integral component of doing business.
Production Control Systems by
Publication Date: 2015-08-21
This book analyzes pull production systems and provides a guideline to choose and implement a proper control policy in production processes. By employing a proper control policy the maximum possible throughput of the production system can be achieved with the minimum work-in-process inventory. Kanban, CONWIP, and base-stock as well-known pull control policies are analyzed and analytical comparisons among them in multistage serial and assembly production processes are presented.
Programmable Logic Controllers by
Publication Date: 2015-03-06
This book will help you to understand the main design characteristics, internal architecture, and operating principles of PLCs, as well as Identify safety issues and methods for fault diagnosis, testing, and debugging. New to sixth edition: a new chapter 1 with a comparison of relay-controlled systems, microprocessor-controlled systems, and the programmable logic controller, a discussion of PLC hardware and architecture, examples from various PLC manufacturers, and coverage of security, the IEC programming standard, programming devices and manufacturer's software.
Programmable Logic Controllers by
Publication Date: 2015-09-18
Programmable Logic Controllers: A Practical Approach using CoDeSys is a hands-on guide to rapidly gain proficiency in the development and operation of PLCs based on the IEC 61131-3 standard. Using the freely-available* software tool CoDeSys, which is widely used in industrial design automation projects, the author takes a highly practical approach to PLC design using real-world examples.
Reliability and Safety Engineering by
Publication Date: 2015-09-28
This book presents an overview of basic concepts in reliability and safety engineering, together with simple and practical illustrations. It also details the latest advances in the field, including dynamic risk assessment and uncertainty management.
Robotic Building by
Publication Date: 2019-09-23
The use of robots in architecture is already commonplace: robots automate processes that were previously done manually. Complex shapes are created with the help of 3D printing while autonomous swarms of robots construct complex buildings. How does the use of robots affect the resulting structures; how does it affect the thinking of architects who work with robots? Robotic Building answers these questions with several practical examples. A final chapter explores the idea of architect as robot, the fully-automated home and similar concepts in which the robot merges with its environment and becomes part of our experience.
Robotics and Well-Being by
Publication Date: 2019-16-04
This book highlights some of the most pressing safety, ethical, legal and societal issues related to the diverse contexts in which robotic technologies apply. Focusing on the essential concept of well-being, it addresses topics that are fundamental not only for research, but also for industry and end-users, discussing the challenges in a wide variety of applications, including domestic robots, autonomous manufacturing, personal care robots and drones.
Robotics Engineer by
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
This book introduces readers to a career as a Robotics Engineer. It explores what the job entails, educational requirements, salary ranges, required skills, employment as prospects.
Robotics in Industry by
Publication Date: 2017-12-15
The history of robots in the industrial world is filled with technological advances and pioneering engineers. These captivating stories are presented to readers through detailed main text and additional fact boxes, creating a comprehensive picture of how robots have influenced industries for long periods of time.
Safety and Health for Engineers by
Publication Date: 2016-04-21
Safety and Health for Engineers provides an overview of the primary knowledge safety and health professionals engineers and others needs to know to be effective. Each chapter provides a different segment of knowledge that helps safety professionals and engineers in their goal to protect workers and property. The encyclopedic coverage of Safety and Health for Engineers addresses the fundamentals of safety, legal aspects, hazard recognition and control, the human element and techniques for managing safety decisions.
Smart electromechanical systems : situational control by
Publication Date: 2019-11-02
This book introduces the latest achievements of Russian scientists regarding the theory and practice of situational control of the SEMS group. It also discusses the development of methods and algorithms for interaction of the SEMS group in situational control, based on the principles of security, flexibility, and adaptability in behavior, as well as parallelism in information processing, computing, and control.
STEAM Jobs in Internet Technology by
Publication Date: 2019-08-11
This book explores career opportunities in the field of internet technology. It provides an overview of various jobs in the field and how they relate to the fields of science, technology, engineering, art, and mathematics (aka STEAM).
STEAM Jobs in Robotics by
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
This book explores the field of robotics as a career. It provides an overview of various jobs in the field and how they relate to the fields of science, technology, engineering, art, and mathematics (aka STEAM).
Strategic Excellence in the Architecture, Engineering, and Construction Industries by
Publication Date: 2018-03-15
The book goes beyond the classic approach to strategic planning by driving effective execution of the strategy through the embedment of collective ownership and organization-wide alignment into the entire process. Significant advances in strategic planning and management have been developed over decades of learning and practice. Many of those advances, however, have been developed in the manufacturing industry and have not been translated into terms easily applicable to the A/E/C (Architectural / Engineering / Construction) industry.
Success Factors for Minorities in Engineering by
Publication Date: 2019-03-04
This book aims to isolate specific success factors for underrepresented minorities in undergraduate engineering programs. Based on a three-phase study spearheaded by the National Action Council for Minorities in Engineering, the findings include evidence that hands-on exposure to problem-based courses, research, and especially internships are powerful catalysts for engineering success, and that both college adjustment and academic skills matter, in varying degrees, to minority success. By encompassing an unusually large number and range of programs, this research adds to the evidence base for the importance of hands-on exposure to the work of engineering.
Success Strategies from Women in STEM by
Publication Date: 2015-06-11
Success Strategies from Women in Stem: A Portable Mentor, Second Edition, is a comprehensive and accessible manual containing career advice, mentoring support, and professional development strategies for female scientists in the STEM fields. This updated text contains new and essential chapters on leadership and negotiation, important coverage of career management, networking, social media, communication skills, and more.
Systems Reliability and Usability for Engineers by
Publication Date: 2019-03-18
Engineering systems are an important element of world economy. Each year billions of dollars are spent to develop, manufacture, operate, and maintain various types of engineering systems about the globe. The reliability and usability of these systems have become important because of their increasing complexity, sophistication, and non-specialist users. Global competition and other factors are forcing manufacturers to produce highly reliable and usable engineering systems. Along with examples and solutions, this book integrates engineering systems reliability and usability into a single volume for those individuals that directly or indirectly are concerned with these areas.
Teaching in the Fourth Industrial Revolution by
Publication Date: 2018-02-12
In this visionary book, written by six internationally recognized Global Teacher Prize finalists, the authors create a positive and hope-filled template for the future of education. They address the hard moral, ethical and pedagogical questions facing education today so that progress can serve society, rather than destroying it from within our classrooms.
The Ten Commandments of Lean Six Sigma by
Publication Date: 2019-11-29
Presented from the perspective of practitioners, researchers and academics, The Ten Commandments of Lean Six Sigma serves as a practical guide for senior managers and executives who want to achieve operational and service excellence in various manufacturing, service and public sector organization.
Total Safety and the Productivity Challenge by
Publication Date: 2019-03-13
The book outlines a professional approach to risk and safety management, which requires goal setting, planning and the measurement of performance, and encourages a safety management system that is woven holistically into the fabric of an organization so that itbecomes part of the culture, the way people do their jobs, and helps ensure that issues are correctly prioritized and managed as they emerge.
Understand Electrical and Electronics Maths by
Publication Date: 2013-10-22
The book discusses basic maths including quotients, algebraic fractions, logarithms, types of equations and balancing of equations. The text also describes the main features and functions of graphs and the solutions to simpler types of electronics problems. The book then tackles the applications of polar coordinates in electronics, limits, differentiation and integration, and the applications of maths of rates of change in electronics. The activities of an electronic circuit; techniques of math.
Women and Underrepresented Minorities in Computing by
Publication Date: 2016-08-08
This text examines in detail the issue of the underrepresentation of women, African Americans, American Indians, and Hispanics in the computing disciplines in the U.S. The work reviews the underlying causes, as well as the efforts of various nonprofit organizations to correct the situation, in order to both improve social equity and address the shortage of skilled workers in this area.