Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Help Accessing Mental Health Information and Resources
The SJR State Library has many health resources that students, faculty, & staff can use to access research-based studies on a variety of subjects related to mental health. While the Librarians cannot offer medical advice, we'd be happy to help you with your research. Please contact a librarian if you need assistance.
If you are an SJR State Student that is interested in speaking with a mental health counselor, contact Dr. Douglass Lobo.
Mental Health Websites
MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Our mission is to present high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish. Anywhere, anytime, on any device—for free.
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
National Alliance on Mental Illness
NAMI provides advocacy, education, support and public awareness so that all individuals and families affected by mental illness can build better lives.
National Institute of Mental Health
The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is the lead federal agency for research on mental disorders. NIMH is one of the 27 Institutes and Centers that make up the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the largest biomedical research agency in the world. NIH is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).
National Network of Libraries of Medicine Consumer Health Resources
Whether you are a health professional, or work in a public setting such as a medical library, public library, community/faith-based organization, public health department or K-12 school, consumer health is part of your work. The National Library of Medicine provides freely available and reliable resources on consumer health to be used by the general public, such as websites, access to interactive health tutorials, and online web-searching tools, to help consumers make the best decisions regarding their health. NNLM MAR provides support for Member outreach efforts surrounding consumer health. This comprehensive guide serves as an online collection of resources and tools that are relevant to consumer health topics. If you would like to learn more about consumer health resources, or explore training opportunities that are available through NNLM, please contact us! We are here to assist you in learning about the wealth of biomedical and health information available through the National Library of Medicine.
How to Find & Access eBooks
How to Find & Access eBooks
Run time: 1 minutes, 59 seconds
Health Databases at the SJR State Library
Bates' Visual Guide
Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination delivers new clinical skills videos featuring head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques, as well as OSCE clinical reasoning modules.
The Books@Ovid database includes full text, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology. A searcher can choose to run a search in one text, selected texts, or all texts. Color diagrams, charts, and other textbook illustrations are available as thumbnails or full-sized graphics. Within an individual book's interface, single-frame or multiple-frame environments contain the retrieved text. Buttons bars on the top and side of the screen facilitate navigation and provide links to the search page and Help. Search screens provide links to Home, Logoff, Help, and the main Ovid database screen. If the user is accessing a specific textbook, links are available to the text's table of contents and to the Search and Results screens, making it easier for searchers to jump from one book section to another.
The worlds most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
Evidence Based Practice (Joanna Briggs Institute)
This comprehensive database covers a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties and includes a unique suite of information that’s been analyzed, appraised, and prepared by expert reviewers at JBI so you and your team can integrate the world’s best evidence into your practice.
Films on Demand
Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)
An advanced interface to the full-text nursing and allied health journals found in the Health & Wellness Resource Center. Does not include reference sources or the Alternative Health suite of resources.
Health and Wellness (Gale)
Easy-to-use interface with access to full-text nursing and allied health journals, encyclopedias and other reference sources, as well as informational pamphlets. Also includes the Alternative Health suite of resources.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 160 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men’s Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for nearly 180 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications.
Journal of Professional Nursing
The Journal of Professional Nursing is focused on baccalaureate and higher degree nursing education, educational research, policy related to education, and education and practice partnerships.
Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Full text for nearly 1,200 journals with coverage dating back to 1965. Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine. Search abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals.
National Library of Medicine's Drug Information Portal
The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies. At the top of the page are links to individual resources with potential drug information, including summaries tailored to various audiences. Resources include the NLM search systems useful in searching for a drug, NLM research resources, resources organized by audience and class, and other NIH and government resources such as FDA and CDC.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile)
Nursing and Allied Health includes full-text titles cited in CINAHL to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management. Nursing and Allied Health helps nursing professionals working in the field as well as students studying a nursing-focused curriculum.
Nursing and Allied Health Source
Access articles and graphics from more than 270 nursing-related publications, including Nursing, Nursing Management, RN, American Journal of Sports Medicine, Physical Therapy, and Patient Care Management.
The R2 Digital Library is a market-leading eBook platform for health science collections featuring a comprehensive collection of medical, nursing and allied health eBooks presented through a clean and intuitive interface.
Nursing Outlook, a bi-monthly journal, provides innovative ideas for nursing leaders through peer-reviewed articles and timely reports. Each issue examines current issues and trends in nursing practice, education and research, offering progressive solutions to the challenges facing the profession. Nursing Outlook is the official journal of the American Academy of Nursing and supports it mission to serve the public and the nursing profession by advancing health policy and practice through the generation, synthesis, and dissemination of nursing knowledge.
OVID Nursing Full-Text Journals
Ovid’s nursing offerings span traditional specialty areas like pain management, maternity care, surgical nursing, nursing management and evidence-based nursing. They include clinically-relevant tools in diagnosis and care procedures, practitioner journals, references for nurse education and CME, resources for nursing administrators, and foundational research literature. And with OvidSP, your users can uncover relevant current or historical information quickly and easily.
Research and Theory for Nursing Practice
Research and Theory for Nursing Practice is a peer-reviewed quarterly journal that focuses on issues relevant to improving nursing practice, education, and patient care. The articles strive to discuss knowledge development in its broadest sense, reflect research using a variety of methodological approaches, and combine several methods and strategies in a single study. Because of the journal's international emphasis, article contributors address the implications of their studies for a worldwide audience.
Go to the Library's homepage | Go to the ASC homepage