Explore Anti-Racism Resources
Police brutality is the use of unnecessary, excessive force by police in their encounters with civilians. The force used is beyond what would be considered necessary in the situation at hand. This may involve the use of a weapon—a baton, Taser, or gun—when such force is not warranted by the situation. In some cases, the use of tear gas, nerve gas, or pepper spray may be considered police brutality if the people targeted are gathered in a peaceful assembly. Police brutality can also involve psychological intimidation, verbal abuse, false arrests, and sexual abuse. [Gale Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection]
Films Provided by Kanopy
Say Her Name: The Life and Death of Sandra Bland
On July 10, 2015, Sandra Bland, a vibrant 28-year-old African American from Chicago, was arrested for a traffic violation in a small Texas town. After three days in custody, she was found hanging from a noose in her cell. Bland's death was quickly ruled a suicide, sparking allegations of a murder and cover-up, and turning her case and name into a rallying cry nationwide.
The Talk: Race in America
This film documents the increasingly common conversation taking place in homes across the country between parents of color and their children, especially sons, about how to behave if they are ever stopped by the police.
When Justice Isn't Just: Unarmed Police Incidents
This dynamic documentary explores why so many unarmed people of color have been shot and killed by police officers. Police officers, legal experts, local activists all weigh in in this timely documentary, delving into ongoing charges of inequality, unfair practices, and politicized manipulations of America's judicial system.
P.S. I Can't Breathe
This documentary welcomes dialogue around racial inequality, policing, and the Criminal Justice System by focusing on Eric Garners case. We hope viewers will increase their understanding of issues plaguing Black and Brown Communities by witnessing a massive group of protesters unite for the purpose of justice.
America After Ferguson
This PBS town hall meeting, moderated by PBS NEWSHOUR co-anchor and managing editor Gwen Ifill, explores events following Michael Brown's death in Ferguson, Missouri. The program, recorded before an audience on the campus of the University of Missouri-St. Louis, will include national leaders and prominent thinkers in the areas of law enforcement, race and civil rights, as well as government officials, faith leaders and youth.
Policing the Police
The new FRONTLINE documentary, Policing the Police, is a provocative journey inside one police force that's been ordered to reform by the Department of Justice: the Newark Police Department in New Jersey. Take a nuanced glimpse into how topics in the national discussion about race and policing are playing out every day on the streets of Newark, in community members' homes, and in the city's police precincts.
Films Provided by TED
Selected Articles
The following is a small representation of articles available via the Library's Research Databases on police brutality:
Statistics on Police Brutality
Government Sources
Free eBook
Who Do You Serve, Who Do You Protect? by ISBN: 9781608466849Publication Date: 2016-05-30What is the reality of policing in the United States? Do the police keep anyone safe and secure other than the very wealthy? How do recent police killings of young black people in the United States fit into the historical and global context of anti-blackness? This collection of reports and essays (the first collaboration between Truthout and Haymarket Books) explores police violence against black, brown, indigenous and other marginalized communities, miscarriages of justice, and failures of token accountability and reform measures. It also makes a compelling and provocative argument against calling the police.
Additional Articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is a database that covers a large variety of topics and is recommended for most research projects. It contains articles from many academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other credible sources.
This link opens in a new window
- Criminal Justice (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Covers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law. Full-text and image coverage for about 50 journals.
- Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes 150 full-text journals. Coverage begins in 1980. Full text available.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
- This link opens in a new window
Mapping Police Violence
Mapping Police Violence
Contains interactive map, reports, and statistics harvested from the three largest crowd-sourced databases of police violence.
Code Switch: A Decade of Watching Black People Die
Books
