Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Practical Nursing Resources

Books

Use the Library online catalog to find resources physically housed in one of SJR State's three campus libraries. The online catalog provides access to the collections of St. Johns River State College and all of the Florida College System libraries. The catalog will tell you what is on our shelves in both the physical and online libraries, the campus location, availability, and the call number of the item. 

You will find books, eBooks, DVD's, reference sources, and more when you use the Library’s online catalog.  

There are several different ways to search for items. For example:

  • by keywords that describe your topic
  • by subject heading (a specific word or phrase from a defined list)
  • by title
  • by author

There are several different ways to refine or limit your search results. For example:

  • by campus location (Orange Park, Palatka, St. Augustine)
  • by format (book, audio/visual, eBook, audiobook, etc.)
  • by year of publication

Once you find a book in the Library Catalog, you need the following information to locate it:

College/Campus: a “request” to transfer can be submitted for items that are not located at your home campus.

Collection: where is the book in the library - circulation, reserves, nursing & allied health.

Call Number: RT23 .G38 2017 (this number is located on the spine of the book).

Due: available or checked out (you can place a hold for a book that is checked out).

You can browse the libraries' collection by using some of the Library of Congress call numbers listed below for Medicine and Nursing areas.  Most Nursing books are classified as RM or RT.  These items are shelved in the "Nursing and Allied Health Collections" located at each campus library.  All of the Nursing & Allied Health books will have pink label covers over the call number.  If you have any questions about the "Nursing and Allied Health Collection" please ask a librarian.

The Libraries provide access to over 180,000 eBooks (digital versions of printed books accessible online).  eBooks are available from our Library online catalog, and are available for use 24/7! The online catalog record includes a link to the eBook.

To specifically search for only eBooks, use the "Format" drop-down menu under "Limit Options".  After clicking on this box, scroll down and select "eBooks".  Note: Only those eBook titles that are available at St. Johns River/eResources are accessible for online viewing.  You must login to your MySJRstate account in order to access the libraries' eBook collection.

Need additional help? Take a look at our tutorial on Using eBooks for more information on accessing and downloading eBooks.

The SJR State Libraries have many reserved nursing texts and other resources available for you to use. They are located on the "Reserves Shelf" behind the circulation desk. If you have any questions concerning the loan period of these items, ask a librarian.

Featured Print Books

SJR State Libraries Catalog Search

Search the catalog for Nursing and Allied Health books, eBooks, DVDs & more.

      

test 1

 

About Learning Resources  •  Our Policies and Guiding Principles  •  Contact Us

St. Johns River State College, an equal access institution, prohibits discrimination in its employment, programs, activities, policies and procedures based on race, sex, gender, gender identity, age, color, religion, national origin, ethnicity, disability, pregnancy, sexual orientation, marital status, genetic information or veteran status. Questions pertaining to education equity, equal access or equal opportunity should be addressed to the College Title IX Coordinator/Equity Officer: Charles Romer, Room A0173, 5001 St. Johns Avenue, Palatka, FL 32177; (386) 312-4074; CharlesRomer@sjrstate.edu Anonymous reporting is available at SJRstate.edu/report. Inquiries/complaints can be filed with the Title IX Coordinator/Equity Officer online, in person, via mail, via email or with the US Department of Education, Office of Civil Rights, Atlanta Office, 61 Forsyth St. SW Suite 19T10, Atlanta, GA 30303-8927. | St. Johns River State College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award associate and baccalaureate degrees. Questions about the accreditation of St. Johns River State College may be directed in writing to the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, by calling 404-679-4500, or by using information available on SACSCOC’s website (www.sacscoc.org).