Skip to Main Content
Main site homepage

Bachelor of Science in Nursing

This guide will help you find journal articles, databases, eBooks and internet resources that will help you with research and writing.

What is QSEN?

The Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) project, funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF), addresses the challenge of preparing future nurses with the knowledge, skills, and attitudes (KSAs) necessary to continuously improve the quality and safety of the healthcare systems within which they work.

The following six competencies were defined in Phase I of the project to accomplish this goal. These competencies included five from the Institute of Medicine (IOM) -patient centered care, teamwork and collaboration, evidence-based practice, quality improvement and informatics- as well as safety.

The QSEN Initiative was originally comprised of three phasesPhase I identified the following six competency areas to be addressed by the initiative:

  • Patient-centered Care
  • Teamwork and Collaboration
  • Evidence-based Practice (EBP)
  • Quality Improvement (QI)
  • Safety
  • Informatics

The Six Competencies




The Six Competencies: