Learning Resources: Allied Health: Find Journal Articles

Search Tips

Select one of the databases in the box below to find journal articles in your subject area.

Use "AND" to refine your search and narrow the number of results. Example: nursing AND ethics
To search for a phrase, use quotation marks. Example: "patient assessment"
To find all possible word endings add *. Example: infect* finds infects, infected, infection, infecting, etc.
Too many results? Try using the subject field to search for the terms, rather than all search fields.
Need more help? Contact a librarian at any SJR State campus.

Research Databases (Find articles & other resources)

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Most comprehensive nursing and allied health database. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text for nearly 1,200 journals with coverage dating back to 1965. Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine. Search abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provide access to authoritative content including full-text titles cited in CINAHL supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management. This essential resource is versatile and features highlighting and note-taking tools as well as an intuitive interface, providing multiple pathways to key information. Updated daily, this resource will help nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
SAGE is the world’s 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 225 learned societies and institutions.
Nursing and Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
Access articles and graphics from more than 270 nursing-related publications, including Nursing, Nursing Management, RN, American Journal of Sports Medicine, Physical Therapy, and Patient Care Management.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.

Research Database Tutorials

Electronic Journals (eJournals)

Respiratory Care Journal This link opens in a new window
RESPIRATORY CARE deals with the subject area of the same name, and thus publishes articles pertaining to disorders affecting the cardiorespiratory system, including their pathogenesis, pathophysiology, manifestations, diagnostic assessment, monitoring, prevention, and management.
Journal of Medical Imaging and Radiation Sciences This link opens in a new window
Brings out articles on research, new technology and techniques, professional practices, technologists' viewpoints as well as relevant book reviews.
Simulation in Healthcare: Journal of the Society for Medical Simulation This link opens in a new window
Simulation in Healthcare: The Journal of the Society for Simulation in Healthcare is a new, multidisciplinary publication encompassing all areas of applications and research in healthcare simulation technology. The journal is relevant to a broad range of clinical and biomedical specialties, and will publish original basic, clinical, and translational research on these topics and more.
Radiologic Technology This link opens in a new window
Radiologic Technology is an official scholarly journal of the American Society of Radiologic Technologists. Published continuously since 1929, it circulates to more than 145,000 readers worldwide.