Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SJR State Learning Resources Department - Library, Tutoring, and Academic Support
Hours  •  Databases  •  Library Catalog  •  Library Help  •  Math Help  •  Writing Help  •  Tutorials & Test Prep  •  Tutoring  •  Wellness  •  Events  •  More for Students

Humanities Guide

General Sites

The Internet Archive

The Internet Archive provides free public access to many collections of digitized materials. The collections range from books, to images, to films, to music, and much more. Everything available in the archive is either in public domain, or freely open with permission through a Creative Commons license. The archive is very large and has many areas to explore.  

Project Gutenberg

Project Gutenberg is a digitized book archive that has been in existence since 1971. It provides eBooks in various formats so the texts can be either read on screen or downloaded and read later. The majority of the eBooks available are in public domain in the United States. Some do contain copyright but have permission from the copyright holders for unlimited non-commercial worldwide use.  

EDSITEment!

EDSITEment! is an educational site produced by the National Endowment for the Humanities. It is intended to provide course ideas and resources for humanities students, including: lesson plans, student activities, media resources, and more. 

Voices of the Shuttle

Voices of the Shuttle is an interdisciplinary database of Web sites. It is developed and supported by faculty at the University of California, Santa Barbara. It provides a wide array of materials is many related subjects to the study of Humanities.  

Art History Sites

Archives of American Art

The Archives of American Art is a site is a collection of primary sources including illustrated letters and diaries, manuscripts, records of museums, galleries and schools, photographs of art world figures and events, and works of art on paper. The site is a part of the Smithsonian Institution.

Art History Resources on the Web

Art History Resources on the Web is a collection of other web resources on Art History. There are many periods of time broken into regions. Each section has a wide array of site on that topic. It is a comprehensive collection curated by Dr. Christopher L.C.E. Witcombe, Professor Emeritus at Sweet Briar College.

The Art Story

The Art Story is a site that provides a wealth of information on Modern Art periods. Movements such as Art Nouveau, Bauhaus, Dad and Pop Art are covered. The Art Story is a educational non-profit organization focused on art appreciation.

Philosophy Sites

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a peer-reviewed compilation of information about philosophic ideas and philosophers. The entries are written by experts but are intended to be read by the average user. The site is run through a not-for-profit structure and hosted by the University of Tennessee at Martin.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

“The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.” The encyclopedia is hosted by the Center for the Study of Language and Information, Stanford University.

The Basics of Philosophy

The Basics of Philosophy is a non-academic web site intended to explain the various ideas and branches of philosophy in a way that anyone can understand. It does not claim to be comprehensive or authoritative. The site’s aim is to attempt to make complex material easier to understand.

World Religion Sites

Encyclopedia of Religion and Society

The Encyclopedia of Religion and Society is an online collection of materials from the print book of the same name. The site contains information on concepts and people related to the topic of religion. The site is hosted by the Hartford Institute for Religion Research.

Understanding World Religion

Understanding World Religion is a site that provides information about the major word religions. Openly accessible articles and eBooks are offered on various topics. The site is hosted by Irving Hexham, Professor of Religious Studies at the University of Calgary.

World Religion Database

The World Religion Database provides access to detailed statistics on religions from around the world. This site is good to explore the religious demographics of the modern world. It is hosted by the Institute on Culture, Religion, and World Affairs at Boston University.


About Learning Resources  •  Our Policies and Guiding Principles  •  Contact Us

SJR State is an EQUAL OPPORTUNITY/EQUAL ACCESS COLLEGE. | SJR State and Title IX Compliance and Commitment | St. Johns River State College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award associate and baccalaureate degrees.
Questions about the accreditation of St. Johns River State College may be directed in writing to the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, by calling 404-679-4500, or by using information available on SACSCOC’s website (www.sacscoc.org).