Visible Body: Human Anatomy Atlas 2020

Allhealthcare students have to study anatomy and physiology. They often find it achallenging subject and struggle to see how the subject will link to theirprofessional practice. Anatomy and Physiology in Healthcareis a brand new textbook focused on what healthcarestudents need to know about the biological principles which underpin thepractice of healthcare. Uniquely,the book integrates clinical cases with the essential biological facts toprovide all students with a thorough understanding of how anatomy andphysiology can be applied in healthcare. Byusing clinical cases throughout, the book helps the reader grasp the practicalrelevance of anatomy and physiology to decision-making and care delivery. Theclinical cases have been carefully selected to reflect common conditionsencountered in practice today, and the changing patterns of disease andhealthcare. Clear high-quality full colour illustrations,links to appropriate web-based content, and self-assessment material make thisthe perfect, practical textbook for all healthcare students. Early praise: "Having reviewed the text I will be recommending it to my nursingstudents"  "It looks like a very good introductory text, with clear illustrations anddiagrams. I think this would be appropriate for student nurses at differentlevels throughout their training." "I particularly like the approach of making the clinical relevance soclear. Introducing these at the start really sets the scene for why this topicis so important to clinical practice." "I am very interested in adopting this as a key text for ourcourse."  "I particularly like the case histories which bring a clear sight ofapplication." "This book is excellent for the two new modules on anatomy and physiologyI am putting together." Review: "This textbook presents anatomy and physiology in a funand interactive way....It is divided into 14 chapters and the way the authorshave introduced the information gives it a modern twist. For example, insteadof titling a chapter 'The reproductive system', it is called 'From onegeneration to the next'. .....What works particularly well is the way theauthors have used case studies that reflect the reality of the changingpatterns of health and disease....This book provides a good foundation in clinicalapplication and it seeks to link theory to practice." Nursing Standard 27 September 2017, volume 32 number 5

Written with health professions students in mind, the Third Edition of Anatomy and Physiology for Health Professionals offers an engaging, approachable, and comprehensive overview of human anatomy and physiology. The Third Edition features a total of six multifaceted 'Units' which build upon an understanding of basic knowledge, take readers through intermediate subjects, and finally delve into complex topics that stimulate critical thinking. Heavily revised with updated content throughout, chapters include useful features, such as Common Abbreviations, Medical Terminology, the Metric System and more! Students will want to take advantage of the many resources available to reinforce learning --including Test Your Understanding questions that regularly assess comprehension, flash cards for self-study, an interactive eBook with more than 20 animations, and interactive and printable Lab Exercises and Case Studies. FEATURESProvides a comprehensive overview of human anatomy and physiology Presents content in an accessible manner targeted to health professions studentsOffers access to helpful animations and interactive learning toolsIncludes clinical images such as X-rays, CT scans and MRIsCovers the effects of aging on various body systemsOffers robust end of chapter assessments for learners

No anatomical reference is as inexpensive and as loaded with meticulously detailed, beautifully illustrated structures of the human digestive system, clearly and concisely labeled for easy identification. There are over 10 million QuickStudy anatomy guides in print, all with Illustrations by award-winning and best-selling medical illustrator Vincent Perez, whose life mission is cataloging the beauty and detail of our complicated body systems for the medical professional, the formative student and the inquisitive layperson. 6-page laminated guide includes illustrated and labeled: Anterior Digestive System & Viscera Posterior Digestive System & Viscera Lateral Mouth & Tongue Mouth & Throat Muscles Mouth, Tongue, Taste Buds Tooth Cross Section Mouth & Salivary Glands Small Intestine (Schematic), Large Intestine Stomach, Stomach & Pancreas Lymphatics Large Intestine Lymphatics Hepatic Portal Veins Liver, Gallbladder & Pancreas Liver Lobule (Micro) Pancreas Anterior Nervous System Ileocecal Sphincter & Appendix Rectum Esophagus, Stomach (Micro Cross Section) Small Intestine, Large Intestine (Micro Cross Section) Suggested uses: Students - handy reference that is compact and easily reviewed on a daily basis Administrative - use for billing and coding Doctors - use guide to educate patients or for reference with staff

Master the Clinical Essentials of ocular and orbital anatomy for clinical practice! The eye is an organ of great complexity. Anatomy of the Eye and Orbit: The Clinical Essentials achieves the impressive task of presenting ophthalmology residents, optometry residents, and optometry students with the clinical essentials of ocular anatomy as a foundation for patient care. It emphasizes the aspects of eye and orbit anatomy that are most relevant to clinicians in training, providing the practical, real-world foundation necessary for practice. Focus on the clinically relevant information you really need to know about all ocular structures and tissues. View anatomy from a clinical perspective with over 300 images, including examples of light and electron microscopy, optical coherence tomography, ultrasound biomicroscopy, and more. Gain a multidisciplinary understanding thanks to coverage authored by both optometrists and ophthalmologists Discover the material's relevance to everyday practice thanks to numerous clinical asides throughout each chapter. Access to the eBook includes additional resources such as video on the mechanics of ciliary body contraction and changes in lens shape during accommodation as well as serial MRI slices through the orbit along the X,Y and Z axes. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click

No anatomical reference is as inexpensive and as loaded with meticulously detailed, beautifully illustrated structures of the human organs, clearly and concisely labeled for easy identification. There are over 10 million QuickStudy anatomy guides in print, all with Illustrations by award-winning and best-selling medical illustrator Vincent Perez, whose life mission is cataloging the beauty and detail of our complicated body systems for the medical professional, the formative student and the inquisitive layperson. 6-page laminated guide includes illustrated and labeled: Organs - Full Torso Anterior Respiratory & Urinary Male & Female Urogenital Systems Respiratory Tracts Right Kidney Left Adrenal Gland Anterior Digestive Hepatic Portal Veins Stomach Small Intestine (Schematic), Large Intestine Anterior Circulatory System Thoracic, Neck & Head Veins/Arteries Anterior Heart & Vessels Posterior Heart Anterior Thoracic Nerves Phrenic & Vagus Nerves Spinal Nerves, Spinal Chord Lymphatic System Deep Abdominal & Inguinal Nodes Dorsal Spleen Stomach & Pancreas Large Intestine Lymphatics Arm Axilla & Thorax Lymphatics Heart & Lungs Suggested uses: Students - handy reference that is compact and easily reviewed on a daily basis Administrative - use for billing and coding Doctors - use guide to educate patients or for reference with staff

Flexible presentation of content makes the text suitable for any course. Precisely detailed, full-color illustrations throughout make every concept clear. Highly detailed anatomy photographs and full-color illustrations enhance visual learning. Clinical application boxes put theory into action. Extensive microbiology tables reinforce the text. Questions for every figure in the book encourage critical thinking and reinforce understanding of the image and the content. A wealth of pedagogical features promotes learning and includes chapter outlines * student objectives * new and related clinical terminology (with pronunciations) * study outlines * review questions and "For Further Thought" discussion topics * and a comprehensive glossary. Pretests and post-tests for every chapter with print and email capabilities assess progress.

Full multiplanar coverage of the spine, extremities, and joints! Renowned for its superb illustrations and highly practical information, the third volume of this classic reference reflects the very latest in state-of-the-art imaging technology. Together with Volumes 1 and 2, this compact and portable book provides a highly specialized navigational tool for clinicians seeking to master the ability to recognize anatomical structures and accurately interpret CT and MR images. Highlights of Volume 3: New CT and MR images of the highest quality Didactic organization using two-page units, with radiographs on one page and full-color illustrations on the next Concise, easy-to-read labeling on all figures Color-coded, schematic diagrams that indicate the level of each section Sectional enlargements for detailed classification of the anatomical structure Comprehensive, compact, and portable, this popular book is ideal for use in both the classroom and clinical setting.

Masterful 2D and 3D head, neck, and brain dissections provide unsurpassed insights into head, neck, and brain anatomy An internationally renowned and beloved author, educator, brain anatomist, and neurosurgeon, Professor Albert Rhoton has a special place in medical history. He was revered by students and colleagues and is regarded as one of the fathers of modern microscopic neurosurgery. A driving principle in his anatomy lab was the simple phrase, "Every Second." This was embraced in his philosophy that every second of every day, a patient's life was improved by a surgeon assisted by the anatomic knowledge his lab helped elucidate and distribute. Rhoton's Atlas of Head, Neck, and Brain is the visually exquisite crowning achievement of Dr. Rhoton's brilliant career and unwavering dedication to the intertwined pursuits of surgical anatomy and neurosurgery. The atlas reflects the unparalleled contributions Dr. Rhoton made to the contemporary understanding of neurosurgical anatomy. Dr. Peris-Celda, with the collaboration of an impressive cadre of international multidisciplinary experts, worked closely under Dr. Rhoton's tutelage on this project. This book is the culmination of 5 years of work and experience gleaned from more than 40 years of surgical anatomy research and exquisite dissection techniques performed in Dr. Rhoton's laboratory. Special Features Each anatomic dissection meticulously labeled with English and Latin descriptors for easy cross referencing with other resources. Multiple views of the most complex regions of the head, neck, and brain provide a deeper understanding of anatomy. More than 600 anatomical images systematically organized in four major sections: Osteology of the Head and Neck; Face and Neck; Ear, Nose, Pharynx, Larynx, and Orbit; and Neuroanatomy and Cranial Base. Superb 2D images presented in a large printed format to optimize the viewing experience. 3D digital images fully realize the beauty of the dissections and enhance the learning process. Specimens injected with colored silicone provide better visualization of arteries and veins. Breathtakingly stunning, this atlas is certain to be a treasured reference for medical students, residents, and clinicians specializing in neurosurgery, facial plastic surgery, otolaryngology, maxillofacial surgery, and craniofacial surgery for many years to come.

Dedicated guide to the lumbar plexus provides invaluable anatomical and surgical insights Thorough knowledge of the lumbar plexus and its branches is crucial to achieving positive patient outcomes, especially with newer surgical approaches. Many of the nerve branches are formed within the psoas major muscle and careful dissection is necessary to free them during surgery to prevent damage. Moreover, the iliac vessels are medial to some of the larger branches of the plexus, such as the femoral and obturator nerves. In the retroperitoneal space, the kidney and ureter are nearby. In addition, due to the overlying peritoneal cavity and its contents, accessing the lumbar plexus presents considerable challenges. Surgical Anatomy of the Lumbar Plexus is the only book on the market devoted to the lumbar plexus and its branches, focusing on anatomy and clinical applications, pathology, surgery, and imaging. Internationally known authors R. Shane Tubbs, Marios Loukas, Amgad Hanna, Rod Oskouian and a cadre of esteemed specialists provide unique insights, clinical pearls, knowledge based on thousands of spine surgeries, and a well-rounded multidisciplinary perspective. Key Highlights Nine separate chapters dedicated to impacted nerves: subcostal, iliohypogastric, ilioinguinal, lateral femoral cutaneous, genitofemoral, femoral, obturator, furcal, and accessory obturator History and overview of dermatomal anatomy of branches derived from the lumbar plexus Anesthetic blockade of the femoral, lateral femoral cutaneous, iliohypogastric, ilioinguinal, and genitofemoral nerves Tips for preventing complications and achieving positive outcomes for lateral transpsoas approaches to the lumbar spine and other procedures More than 100 novel illustrations provide clarity and understanding of a complex anatomical area as it relates to surgery involving the lumbar plexus and branches This one-of-a-kind resource provides crucial surgical and anatomical information on the lumbar plexus. It is a must-have reference for neurosurgeons, orthopaedic surgeons, and general surgeons. Reading it cover-to-cover will ultimately benefit patients undergoing lumbar spine surgery. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.

Imaging is ever more integral to anatomy education and throughout modern medicine. Building on the success of previous editions, this fully revised fifth edition provides a superb foundation for understanding applied human anatomy, offering a complete view of the structures and relationships within the body using the very latest imaging techniques. It is ideally suited to the needs of medical students, as well as radiologists, radiographers and surgeons in training. It will also prove invaluable to the range of other students and professionals who require a clear, accurate, view of anatomy in current practice. Fully revised legends and labels and over 80% new images - featuring the latest imaging techniques and modalities as seen in clinical practice Covers the full variety of relevant modern imaging - including cross-sectional views in CT and MRI, angiography, ultrasound, fetal anatomy, plain film anatomy, nuclear medicine imaging and more - with better resolution to ensure the clearest anatomical views Unique new summaries of the most common, clinically important anatomical variants for each body region - reflects the fact that around 20% of human bodies have at least one clinically significant variant New orientation drawings - to help you understand the different views and the 3D anatomy of 2D images, as well as the conventions between cross-sectional modalities Now a more compete learning package than ever before, with superb new BONUS electronic enhancements embedded within the accompanying eBook, including: Labelled image 'stacks' - that allow you to review cross-sectional imaging as if using an imaging workstation Labelled image 'slide-lines' - showing features in a full range of body radiographs to enhance understanding of anatomy in this essential modality Self-test image 'slideshows' with multi-tier labelling - to aid learning and cater for beginner to more advanced experience levels Labelled ultrasound videos - bring images to life, reflecting this increasingly clinically practiced technique Questions and answers accompany each chapter - to test your understanding and aid exam preparation 34 pathology tutorials - based around nine key concepts and illustrated with hundreds of additional pathology images, to further develop your memory of anatomical structures and lead you through the essential relationships between normal and abnormal anatomy