Learning Resources: Health Information Technology: Career Resources

Use Big Interview to learn and practice your interview skills, whether you’re interviewing for a job or graduate school. Big Interview is an online tool for practice or mock interviews.

Professional Organizations

American Academy of Professional Coders (AAPC)
AAPC provides information on careers in medical coding.
Association for Healthcare Documentation Integrity (AHDI)
Association for Healthcare Documentation Integrity provides advocacy, education, and information on certification.
Board of Medical Specialty Coding and Compliance (BMSC)
Board of Medical Specialty Coding and Compliance provides information on certification in specialty medical coding.
Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP)
This organization provides a list of schools offering accredited programs in health information management.
National Healthcareer Association
The National Healthcareer Association is a national professional certification agency for healthcare workers in the United States. Granting credentials in more than 8 allied health specialties, it is an organizational member of the National Organization for Competency Assurance.
Professional Association of Healthcare Coding Specialists (PAHCS)
Professional Association of Healthcare Coding Specialists provides educational programs, events, and information on certification.

The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook is revised every two years.

Follow the link to find indepth career information for Medical Records and Health Information Specialists and similar related fields.

Peterson's Career Prep allows you discover which careers suit you best, research potential career options, and explore the requirements and outlooks for the occupations you're interested in.

Library Databases

Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Vocations and Careers aids users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career.
Florida's Plan Your Career This link opens in a new window
Learn about Florida's job market and explore education and training resources and the funding options available to prepare for a new career path.
CareerSource Florida Center Directory This link opens in a new window
From training to job searches, Florida's One-Stop Career Centers provide a full range of assistance for the job seeker.
Employ Florida Marketplace This link opens in a new window
Employ Florida Marketplace is your one-stop online resource for job listings, education and training opportunities, career building assistance and much more.
Peterson's Test Prep This link opens in a new window
Taking a college entrance or licensing exam? Looking for a college or graduate school? Need help finding scholarships? Use this database to search thousands of college and graduate school entries. Take on-line practice tests and use test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals.