Internet of Things (IoTs) are now being integrated at a large scale in fast-developing applications such as healthcare, transportation, education, finance, insurance and retail. The next generation of automated applications will command machines to do tasks better and more efficiently. Both industry and academic researchers are looking at transforming applications using machine learning and deep learning to build better models and by taking advantage of the decentralized nature of Blockchain. But the advent of these new technologies also brings very high expectations to industries, organisations and users. The decrease of computing costs, the improvement of data integrity in Blockchain, and the verification of transactions using Machine Learning are becoming essential goals.
Information security is important in every aspect of daily life. This book examines four areas where risks are present: artificial intelligence (AI), the internet of things (IoT), government and malware. The authors channel their experience and research into an accessible body of knowledge for consideration by professionals. AI is introduced as a tool for healthcare, security and innovation. The advantages of using AI in new industries are highlighted in the context of recent developments in mechanical engineering, and a survey of AI software risks is presented focusing on well-publicized failures and US FDA regulatory guidelines. The risks associated with the billions of devices that form the IoT grow with the availability of such devices in consumer products, healthcare, energy infrastructure and transportation. The risks, software engineering risk mitigation methods and standards promoting a level of care for the manufacture of IoT devices are examined because of their importance for software developers. Strategic insights for software developers looking to do business with the US federal government are presented, considering threats to both public and private sectors as well as governmental priorities from recent executive and legislative branch actions. Finally, an analysis of malicious software that infects numerous computer systems each day and causes millions of dollars in damages every year is presented. Malicious software, or "malware," is software designed with hostile intent, but the damage may be mitigated with static and dynamic analyses, which are processes for studying how malware operates and analyzing potential impacts.
Data analytics is creeping into the lexicon of our daily language. This book gives the reader a perspective as to the overall data analytics skill set, starting with a primer on statistics, and works toward the application of those methods. There are a variety of formulas and algorithms used in the data analytics process. These formulas can be plugged into whatever software application the reader uses to obtain the answer they need. There are several demonstrations of this process to provide straightforward instruction as to how to bring data analytics skills to your critical thinking. This book presents a variety of methods and techniques, as well as case studies, to enrich the knowledge of data analytics for project managers, systems engineers, and cybersecurity professionals. It separates the case studies so that each profession can practice some straightforward data analytics specific to their fields. The main purpose of this text is to refresh the statistical knowledgenecessary to build models for data analytics. Along with that, this book encompasses the analytics thinking that is essential to all three professions. FEATURES: Provides straightforward instruction on data analytics methods Includes methods, techniques, and case studies for project managers, systems engineers, and cybersecurity professionals Refreshes the statistical knowledgeneeded to bring data analytics into your skillset and decision-making Focuses on getting readers up to speed quickly and efficiently to be able to see the impact of data analytics and analytical thinking
C# and .NET Core makes network programming the enjoyable experience it should be. This book will get you started with the basics of network programming as they relate to C#. We will then dig into the core topics of the network layer. You'll also learn to make sockets connections as well and develop practical client-side applications in this book.
Microsoft Power Apps Cookbook is a complete resource filled with meticulously crafted recipes to help you build customized business apps that meet ever-changing enterprise demands. You will learn how to design modern apps with the low-code approach in a rapid application development environment by achieving enterprise-wide business agility.
Algorithms are the essence of programming. After their construction, they have to be translated to the codes of a specific programming language. There exists a maximum of ten basic algorithmic templates. This textbook aims to provide the reader with a more convenient and efficient method to create a program by translating algorithms, template by template with C++ and Java. This is the slogan of the book: You will be a professional programmer whenever you become a skilled algorithm designer. This book attempts to gradually strengthen the readers' ability to identify and analyze the mental commands which are issued and implemented in their brains for solving the problems in which mathematical computations are applied and try to design an algorithm based on their understanding and analyses. It then seeks to encourage the readers to develop their skills in algorithm-writing for computational problems and synchronously teach them to translate the algorithms into C++ and Java codes using the least necessary keywords.
How the theoretical tools of literacy help us understand programming in its historical, social and conceptual contexts.The message from educators, the tech community, and even politicians is clear- everyone should learn to code. To emphasize the universality and importance of computer programming, promoters of coding for everyone often invoke the concept of "literacy," drawing parallels between reading and writing code and reading and writing text. In this book, Annette Vee examines the coding-as-literacy analogy and argues that it can be an apt rhetorical frame. The theoretical tools of literacy help us understand programming beyond a technical level, and in its historical, social, and conceptual contexts. Viewing programming from the perspective of literacy and literacy from the perspective of programming, she argues, shifts our understandings of both. Computer programming becomes part of an array of communication skills important in everyday life, and literacy, augmented by programming, becomes more capacious. Vee examines the ways that programming is linked with literacy in coding literacy campaigns, considering the ideologies that accompany this coupling, and she looks at how both writing and programming encode and distribute information. She explores historical parallels between writing and programming, using the evolution of mass textual literacy to shed light on the trajectory of code from military and government infrastructure to large-scale businesses to personal use. Writing and coding were institutionalized, domesticated, and then established as a basis for literacy. Just as societies demonstrated a "literate mentality" regardless of the literate status of individuals, Vee argues, a "computational mentality" is now emerging even though coding is still a specialized skill.
This textbook provides in-depth coverage of the fundamentals of the C and C++ programming languages and the object-oriented programming paradigm. It follows an example-driven approach to facilitate understanding of theoretical concepts. Essential concepts, including functions, arrays, pointers and inheritance, are explained, while complex topics, such as dynamic memory allocation, object slicing, vtables, and upcasting and downcasting, are examined in detail. Concepts are explained with the help of line diagrams, student-teacher conversations and flow charts, while other useful features, such as quiz questions and points to remember, are included. Solved examples, review questions and useful case studies are interspersed throughout the text, and explanations of the logic used to implement particular functionality is also provided. This book will be useful for undergraduate students of computer science and engineering, and information technology.
"Each item in Slatkin's Effective Python teaches a self-contained lesson with its own source code. This makes the book random-access: Items are easy to browse and study in whatever order the reader needs. I will be recommending Effective Python to students as an admirably compact source of mainstream advice on a very broad range of topics for the intermediate Python programmer." --Brandon Rhodes, software engineer at Dropbox and chair of PyCon 2016-2017 It's easy to start coding with Python, which is why the language is so popular. However, Python's unique strengths, charms, and expressiveness can be hard to grasp, and there are hidden pitfalls that can easily trip you up. Effective Python will help you master a truly "Pythonic" approach to programming, harnessing Python's full power to write exceptionally robust and well-performing code. Using the concise, scenario-driven style pioneered in Scott Meyers' best-selling Effective C++, Brett Slatkin brings together 59 Python best practices, tips, and shortcuts, and explains them with realistic code examples. Drawing on years of experience building Python infrastructure at Google, Slatkin uncovers little-known quirks and idioms that powerfully impact code behavior and performance. You'll learn the best way to accomplish key tasks, so you can write code that's easier to understand, maintain, and improve. Key features include Actionable guidelines for all major areas of Python 3.x and 2.x development, with detailed explanations and examples Best practices for writing functions that clarify intention, promote reuse, and avoid bugs Coverage of how to accurately express behaviors with classes and objects Guidance on how to avoid pitfalls with metaclasses and dynamic attributes More efficient approaches to concurrency and parallelism Better techniques and idioms for using Python's built-in modules Tools and best practices for collaborative development Solutions for debugging, testing, and optimization in order to improve quality and performance
CompTIA A+ 220-901 and 220-902 exams retired in 2019. Search the store to find CompTIA A+ Core 1 (220-1001) and Core 2 (220-1002) books, eBooks, and video courses. This is the perfect study guide to help you pass CompTIA®'s new A+® 220-901 and 220-902 exams. It provides coverage and practice questions for every exam topic, including substantial new coverage of Windows 8/8.1, new PC hardware, tablets, smartphones, OS X, Linux, cloud computing, and professional-level networking and security. Extensive prep tools include quizzes, Exam Alerts, our great last-minute Cram Sheet, two full practice exams in the print book and an additional two exams in the test engine, plus complete real-time practice and feedback through Pearson's state-of-the-art test engine. You'll also find ten exclusive Real World Scenario case studies, all linked to simulations or video on the DVD! Covers the critical information you'll need to know to score higher on your A+ 220-901 and 220-902 exams! Deploy and manage desktops and notebooks running Windows 8.1/8, 7, Vista, OS X, or Linux Master and practice the six-step A+ troubleshooting process Understand, install, configure, and troubleshoot motherboards, CPUs, and memory Test and troubleshoot power-related problems Use all forms of storage, including SSDs, Blu-ray devices, and RAID systems Work effectively with mobile devices, including iOS, Android, and Windows tablets and smartphones Install, configure, and troubleshoot both visible and internal laptop components Configure Windows components and applications, use Windows administrative tools, and optimize Windows systems Repair damaged Windows environments and boot errors Work with audio and video subsystems, I/O devices, and new peripherals Install and manage both local and network printers Understand and work with networks, network hardware, wireless protocols, and cloud technologies Install and configure SOHO wired/wireless networks and troubleshoot connectivity Secure desktops and mobile devices, implement authentication methods, prevent malware attacks, and protect data TEST ENGINE WITH 320 PRACTICE QUESTIONS! Make sure you're 100% ready for the real exam! Detailed explanations of correct and incorrect answers Multiple test modes Random questions and order of answers Coverage of each current A+ exam objective
Information professionals have been paying more attention and putting a greater focus on privacy over cybersecurity. However, the number of both cybersecurity and privacy breach incidents are soaring, which indicates that cybersecurity risks are high and growing. Utilizing cybersecurity awareness training in organizations has been an effective tool to promote a cybersecurity-conscious culture, making individuals more cybersecurity-conscious as well. However, it is unknown if employees' security behavior at work can be extended to their security behavior at home and personal life. On the one hand, information professionals need to inherit their role as data and information gatekeepers to safeguard data and information assets. On the other hand, information professionals can aid in enabling effective information access and dissemination of cybersecurity knowledge to make users conscious about the cybersecurity and privacy risks that are often hidden in the cyber universe. Cybersecurity for Information Professionals: Concepts and Applications introduces fundamental concepts in cybersecurity and addresses some of the challenges faced by information professionals, librarians, archivists, record managers, students, and professionals in related disciplines. This book is written especially for educators preparing courses in information security, cybersecurity, and the integration of privacy and cybersecurity. The chapters contained in this book present multiple and diverse perspectives from professionals in the field of cybersecurity. They cover such topics as: Information governance and cybersecurity User privacy and security online and the role of information professionals Cybersecurity and social media Healthcare regulations, threats, and their impact on cybersecurity A socio-technical perspective on mobile cybersecurity Cybersecurity in the software development life cycle Data security and privacy Above all, the book addresses the ongoing challenges of cybersecurity. In particular, it explains how information professionals can contribute to long-term workforce development by designing and leading cybersecurity awareness campaigns or cybersecurity hygiene programs to change people's security behavior.
This timely and compelling book presents a broad study of all key cyber security issues of the highest interest to government and business as well as their implications.This comprehensive work focuses on the current state of play regarding cyber security threats to government and business, which are imposing unprecedented costs and disruption. At the same time, it aggressively takes a forward-looking approach to such emerging industries as automobiles and appliances, the operations of which are becoming more closely tied to the internet. Revolutionary developments will have security implications unforeseen by manufacturers, and the authors explore these in detail, drawing on lessons from overseas as well as the United States to show how nations and businesses can combat these threats.The book's first section describes existing threats and their consequences. The second section identifies newer cyber challenges across an even broader spectrum, including the internet of things. The concluding section looks at policies and practices in the United States, United Kingdom, and elsewhere that offer ways to mitigate threats to cyber security. Written in a nontechnical, accessible manner, the book will appeal to a diverse audience of policymakers, business leaders, cyber security experts, and interested general readers.