Skip to main content

Florida School of the Arts- Acting

Resources for students taking courses with Florida School of the Arts Professor Kevin Kelly.

Which Database Should You Use?

How to Find Articles

The Library subscribes to hundreds of online databases and they have different interfaces. But once you learn how to use one, you will be able to use others easily. 

To begin your search for articles, start with Academic Search Premier It has articles about most subjects.

General Tips

  • No matter what database you choose, use carefully selected keywords to search with. 
  • If you are given the option to limit the search to Full Text (there's usually a check box next to the phrase), always select that option. That way the resource will only show you articles you can read immediately. 
  • If the complete article does not appear below the citation when you click the title from the results list, you may need to do one more step. Look for a link to either the HTML full text or the PDF. The PDF is a scanned image of the article and requires the free Adobe Acrobat reader to view. The PDF will have the same page numbers as the print version which makes citing it much easier. 
  • If you searched without limiting to Full Text, sometimes the HTML of PDF option won't be available. When that happens, click the Full Text FinderFull Text Finder link. If the full article is available in one of our other databases, this link will connect you to the resource. If the article isn't available in another database, you may request it via ILL.

If you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact your Librarian.