Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bachelor of Science in Nursing: Find Articles

This guide will help you find journal articles, databases, eBooks and internet resources that will help you with research and writing.

Which Database Should You Use?

How to Find Articles

The Library subscribes to hundreds of online databases and they have different interfaces. But once you learn how to use one, you will be able to use others easily. 

To begin your search for articles, start with  CINAHL Complete.

General Tips

  • No matter what database you choose, use carefully selected keywords to search with. 
  • If you are given the option to limit the search to Full Text (there's usually a check box next to the phrase), always select that option. That way the resource will only show you articles you can read immediately. 
  • If the complete article does not appear below the citation when you click the title from the results list, you may need to do one more step. Look for a link to either the HTML full text or the PDF. The PDF is a scanned image of the article and requires the free Adobe Acrobat reader to view. The PDF will have the same page numbers as the print version which makes citing it much easier. 
  • If you searched without limiting to Full Text, sometimes the HTML of PDF option won't be available. When that happens, click the Full Text FinderFull Text Finder link. If the full article is available in one of our other databases, this link will connect you to the resource. If the article isn't available in another database, you may request it via ILL.

If you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact your Librarian.

 

CINAHL Database

CINAHL Complete - Basic Searching Tutorial

CINAHL Complete - Advance Searching Tutorial

SIGN IN Instructions

To use our digital resources, you will need to sign in. When prompted...

SJR State's sign in screen

Sign in with your MySJRstate username
and password

That's it! You will stay signed in until you close your browser - even if you go to another digital resource.

If you are not prompted with the SJR State sign in screen above, please close your browser and try again.

Problems? Please contact Royce Bass and he will help.

 

About Learning Resources  •  Our Policies and Guiding Principles  •  Contact Us

SJR State is an EQUAL OPPORTUNITY/EQUAL ACCESS COLLEGE. | SJR State and Title IX Compliance and Commitment | St. Johns River State College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award associate and baccalaureate degrees.
Questions about the accreditation of St. Johns River State College may be directed in writing to the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, by calling 404-679-4500, or by using information available on SACSCOC’s website (www.sacscoc.org).