Search by using keywords and NOT phrases or sentences.
Start Broad
When you start your researching journey, it is always a good idea to keep your searches broad and then begin to narrow it down. A broad search is going to leave you with lots of results that you can filter down by subject or maybe even a related field. When searching, look for other keywords that are being used in the sources that you find helpful. This will help you naturally begin to narrow your topic and research.
Try Different Keyword Searches
The databases and the library catalog search by keywords. Unlike Google or other search engines, you cannot type in a question or statement to find results. Keywords are one or two words that sum up your idea or topic. Finding good keywords can be the most challenging part to academic research. Do not be afraid to try different keywords in different ways. For example:
Analyze Your Sources
Once you find a source that you think will be helpful, you want to analyze it to determine the validity of the information. Some things you will want to be on the lookout for are: Where you found it? Who is writing it? Who published it? When it was written? Why was it written? What is the source's purpose?
Stay Organized and Save Your Sources
Like in all things, staying organized will help you through your research journey. Some ways you can stay organize include creating digital or physical folders that contain the sources that you found. Saving the information you found is extremely important. It is very hard to replicate a search within a database and sometime it can be very challenging to find sources again if you don't remember much information about the source. Simply saving your source or printing it out can help you stay organized and be able to quickly retrieve information when it is time to start writing.
Use Your Library Resources
The library has a plethora of resources that can help you through your research journey. The library not only has books and periodicals, but databases, catalogs, videos and the best resource of all; librarians! Librarians can help you navigate the databases and catalogs as well as offering advice on your keyword searches and ways to narrow down your information. If you ever feel stuck or unsure of your next step while researching, ask your librarian for help and guidance!
Academic OneFile offers extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects.
Academic Search Complete is a database that covers a large variety of topics and is recommended for most research projects. It contains articles from many academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other credible sources.
Business Collection provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.
Business Source Complete is a database of citations to, summaries of, and full text of articles from academic journals, magazines, and trade publications dating back to 1886. Also included are current company, industry and region reports.
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research. It offers full-text access to a substantial portion of the most frequently cited journals in the CINAHL index, surpassing other databases. Providing 1,815 active full-text journals valued at $478,475.88, this database covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
Offers access to today's most well-read and influential periodicals on the computer, telecommunications and electronics industries.
Sage Data is a data download and visualization tool hosting social science data about U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan statistical areas from more than 200 different government and non-government sources. It spans topics like employment, crime, religion, and education.
This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes 150 full-text journals. Coverage begins in 1980. Full text available.
Economics and Theory Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics and related fields.
This comprehensive database covers all major areas of starting, operating and maintaining a business from financing, management, marketing, accounting, taxes and more.
ERIC is the largest education database in the records of the world-containing millions of journal articles, research reports, conference papers, dissertations, and books.
General OneFile is a comprehensive general-interest resource providing periodical and news information. In addition, General OneFile also features more than 500 travel guides; a full collection of National Public Radio programs from 1990 to the present, including searchable transcripts; links to over 5,000 video files including shows like the Today Show, NBC Nightly News, NRO TV and Meet the Press; more than 3,000 full-text titles.
Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.
Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 160 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men’s Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for nearly 180 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications.
Hospitality, Tourism, and Leisure Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The database offers current and relevant content that provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries.
Insurance and Liability Collection provides access to academic journals and trade publications covering the insurance industry and topics such as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more. The database offers content of interest to individual property owners and multinational corporations alike.
Full text for nearly 1,200 journals with coverage dating back to 1965. Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine. Search abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals.
SJR State students, faculty, and staff may register for full access to the New York Times online and maintain this personal account for 364 days. Once your days are up, you will need to renew your account.
Access articles and graphics from more than 270 nursing-related publications, including Nursing, Nursing Management, RN, American Journal of Sports Medicine, Physical Therapy, and Patient Care Management.
SAGE is the world’s 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 225 learned societies and institutions.
Teaching and Learning in Nursing is the Official Journal of the National Organization of Associate Degree Nursing. The journal is dedicated to the advancement of Associate Degree Nursing education and practice, and promotes collaboration in charting the future of health care education and delivery.
