How to Cite Sources: Home

Avoid Plagiarism

It is important that you cite your sources to avoid plagiarism, which is the practice of taking someone else's work or ideas and passing them off as one's own. 

Give Credit

Giving credit to the original source rewards other scholars for the hard work and creativity they contribute to advancements in their fields.

Help Readers Find Your Sources

Citations are like a roadmap to your sources. Sometimes seeing a quote in its original context helps readers understand it better. Citations can also guide your readers to more information about your topic.

Give Credibility to Your Work

The more you know about your topic, the more credible your arguments become. By citing your sources, you prove that you have researched existing information and multiple viewpoints. In turn, readers will see that your theories and ideas are well-supported.

Direct Quotes

Paraphrases

Specific Words/Terms/Theories

Facts: Historical, Statistical, Scientific

Graphs, Drawings, Data

Articles, Studies, or Books (that you reference in your writing)

Someone Else's Thoughts or Ideas

• Research and Citation Resources (Purdue OWL)

  Helpful overview of the processes of Conducting Research, and Using Research in writing your paper. Also provides links to guides describing how to use APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian styles. From the OWL at Purdue University.
• Citing Sources (Duke U.)

  Covers APA, MLA, Chicago, and Turabian styles. Provides explanations on in-text citations and assembling your bibliography. From Duke University libraries.
• Citation and Style Guides (Concordia U.)

  This is a helpful collection of links describing how to cite print and electronic sources using APA, MLA, Turabian, Chicago, and other styles. From Concordia University in Montreal.

• Annotated Bibliographies

  Learn how to create an annotated bibliography. Note the links to additional "Example" and "Samples" pages in the left-hand menu. From the OWL at Purdue University.
• How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography

  Need help creating an annotated bibliography? This guide offers helpful tips. From Cornell University libraries.